Daily Archives: August 27, 2010

Live Writer plug in for Posterous

I’ve been blogging for a while now, and I’d use Live Writer.  I’d also like to use Posterous regularly for odds and sods that aren’t really relevant to my blog here.

Posterous will publish to your blog, Twitter, Facebook and the like and it works by email.  All you need to do is email Posterous and it does the rest.   Its great idea but it disrupts my workflow.  Here’s what I mean.

  • I use Live Writer to create posts.  When I hit publish the post goes to my blog
  • I use the Twitter Notifier add in for Live Writer to tell Twitter about each new post.
  • Twitter is linked to Facebook so my tweets appear in the live feed
  • Twitter is connected to LinkedIn so my tweets appear there
  • I use Facebook notes to publish the text of my blog

Hmm.  There doesn’t seem to be any room for Posterous in this flow. 

I still want Twitter to publish to Facebook as my Facebook friends get my non blog related tweets.  I don’t want to duplicate any entries and I want to keep Facebook for more personal stuff.

So I noticed that there’s a Live Writer Plug in for Posterous on Codeplex written by Scott Lovegrove who also wrote the Delicious and Tweetmeme plugins for Live Writer.   There’s a bit of configuring to do, like any add in but it works like a dream.

So I posted the draft post I’ve been meaning to post today.  It went to Posterous and nowhere else.  Yay! Then I switched to another profile and posted to my blog which notified Twitter which notified Facebook 

image

Now I can keep the trivia and the irrelevant stuff that I stumble across totally separate from my work persona.  Nothing weird will go to Twitter and LinkedIn.  All the daft stuff and whimsy will go to Posterous and Facebook.

All sorted.  All down to one plugin.  Scott, you’re not a fool, you’re a genius.  Thank you! 🙂

Digg This