HMRC scam from the Grenadines makes basic mistakes

I’m convinced that some spammers and scammers are getting lazy. I’m not sure that this is a sophisticated attempt to extract cash from me.  This is the latest piece of spam I received. Unlike the last email scam which got my attention I was curious to see how different this email was.  This email included an .rtf attachment with the following text. There are some glaring errors here… 

image

Date: The letter isn’t dated

Phone number: HMRC publish contact numbers on the web site.  The code for London does not start with 070

$15,000,000.00 USD:  We deal in GBP here – sorry.

W-8BEN:  This is a US tax form – and not used over here.

email address ending in .vc. This is the email address for Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Obviously not HMRC in the UK. 

Ms Lin Homer. You can keep the 15 million dollars you owe me – It looks like you need it to furnish your country home on the Islands.  I’ll deal with my local HMRC thank you and get any payments due to me in British pounds.

Eileen is a social business strategist, ZDNet columnist and author of Working The Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business. Contact her to find out how she can help your business extend its reach.

2 thoughts on “HMRC scam from the Grenadines makes basic mistakes

  1. Rolf

    I received three of these spam emails in one hour and did not open them as I suspected a virus. Thanks for your analysis. The poor grammar in the first sentence is the second clue. Not the Queens’ english and not much better than a Nigerian prince.

    1. eileenb Post author

      Rolf,

      Glad you got some value from the post. Thanks for commenting about your experience. I still can’t decide whether they are super soophisticated – or super stupid🙂

Comments are closed.