A Social Network for women only? We certainly wouldn’t talk about men..

I wonder whether Luluvise will be successful. Luluvise is a social network for women only. 

Women only.  it’s an odd concept…

I agree that women sometimes want to tell things to other women only.  Perhaps sharing privately on Facebook has got too challenging since the new Timeline feature rolled out. Perhaps women want to network with other women and share things that they perhaps wouldn’t want to share on a more public (mixed sex) forum.

image

The first thing that I saw on joining the site, was men.  Luluvise uses Facebook authentication to harvest the list of men in my Facebook friends list.  It then gives me an opportunity to rate them.

image

Oh dear.  Fail Luluvise. Not everyone on my Facebook friends list is a potential lover.  Some of these are colleagues, customers, and just friends of mine.

I’m not necessarily a fan of theirs, nor an ‘Ex’  They’re just friends, colleagues and acquaintances.

I’d like to have different types of conversations with my girlfriends than just weighing up the datability quotient of my Facebook male friends.  I’d like to talk about careers, share stories to inspire other women, or read their stories of success.

It’s not enough that I can chat to my girlfriends.  I can create a list in Facebook and do that.  I want more than you can offer

As Belinda says, Women are calling for more varied methods of participating with friends than current networks provide.

Sorry, Luluvise, until you get more established and get some credible content on the site that appeals to the woman with a brain, a career and a social life, I won’t be back.

…Unless I want to bitch about my male colleagues in a female only environment.

But I can do that in a wine bar with my friends….

Eileen is a social business strategist, ZDNet columnist and author of Working The Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business. Contact her to find out how she can help your business extend its reach.

One thought on “A Social Network for women only? We certainly wouldn’t talk about men..

  1. Pingback: Wire » Blog Archive » A Social Network for women only? We certainly wouldn’t talk about men..

Comments are closed.