Hiding something?: Questions to uncover corporate culture

 

I’ve been reflecting on my Being ‘nice’ limits your earnings potential post from the other day.  Surely there must be some companies that have a great culture.  but how do you find them?  Scott Ginsburg lists 7 interview questions to uncover corporate culture and there are some really interesting topics.  Here they are:

1. If you could describe your corporate culture in three words, what would you say?

2. If you were going to give public tours of this company, what stops would the guide make?

3. If the local paper were going to run a four-page article about your company’s culture, what would be impossible not to include?

4. What’s the best part about working in this environment that I won’t be able to see from just a walk around the office?

5. What are the most common complaints employees make about your company culture?

6. May I speak with a few of your veteran employees or new hires?

7. What do you love best about the culture here?

image

These are great questions, and ones I wish I’d asked in several of my previous jobs.  I’m sure some of the words I’d have heard would be passion, energy, drive, determination, success, long hours, drinking, parties, travel, etc.  I’m sure you could add a fair few to this list too…

Is rudeness part of your corporate culture?  Sites like Glassdoor, often give a glimpse about life once inside the corporate environment, but what if you wanted to discover for yourself, what the environment is life. 

 

After all, the interview is just a point in time experience.  You’ll be at work for much much longer.

 

These questions, might just swing your decision for you…

Image credit: Flickr

 

Eileen is a social media consultant and author of Working The Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business. Contact her to find out how she can help your business extend its reach.

 

2 thoughts on “Hiding something?: Questions to uncover corporate culture

  1. Tac Anderson

    These are great and I think every potential employee, customer and partner should ask. One of my favorite questions I’ve asked before is: “What would ex-employees say about their experience here.” Actually came up with that one when an interviewer asked me what my former employers would say about my time there🙂

    1. eileenb Post author

      Ooh, that’s a good one too. Certainly worth asking in an interview… 🙂 If only we could ‘really’ find out what new employers were like – then there’d be fewer folks becoming disgruntled and leaving.. I wish I’d known these earlier in my career.. Thanks for taking the time to comment

Comments are closed.