Do you ‘really’ trust your Facebook friends?

Heck,  someone else I know has been fired from her job for posting things on her Facebook profile.  This time, her profile was secured so no one outside her immediate circle of friends could see her status updates.  But with requests from friends coming in to your Facebook account on almost a daily basis, do you really ‘trust’ all of your Facebook friends?

imageimageimageimageimage

Last week, Facebook opened up the application interface allowing more people to see your personal data.  This time it’s your phone numbers and addresses, which will make it easier for developers to create location specific applications that target your home location.  The problem is that lots of social games like Farmville and Mafia wars rely on you having hundreds of friends to make your gaming presence stronger and operate as a group.  the challenge is that, unless carefully managed, these friends could potentially see status updates that you’d rather they didn’t see.

I often get asked how I manage to have such a public profile and a private life and how I share information with folks I’m closer to than the wider circle of friends, colleagues and acquaintances.  I create lists and categorise my Facebook connections to put them into these lists which have different layers of visibility to my data.  To create a list, click on Account, Edit friends and Create a list

image

Give the list a name. I’ve called this new list Family only

image

And the new list appears in the set of lists I’ve created in the past

image

So now, when I update my status, I decide whether to send it to everyone, close friends or to folks I don’t know.  Clicking on the padlock on the status bar brings up the dialogue box to set the custom settings

image

image

And if all this seems too much of a hassle to do – then delete the friends that you don’t completely trust – or don’t say anything controversial on your Facebook page.  Being fired is the least thing that could happen – you might end up on the front page of one of the tabloids when a friend turns out to be less of a friend that you thought they were…

Now Jacque – you have no more excuses Smile

Technorati Tags: ,,
Digg This

3 thoughts on “Do you ‘really’ trust your Facebook friends?

  1. bernadette paolo

    I liked facebook until this…
    Social-networking company Facebook Inc. said it raised $1.5 billion, a transaction that included a controversial private placement led by Goldman Sachs

Comments are closed.