Daily Archives: August 21, 2006

Setting up direct push for Windows mobile 5.0

Emily contacted me as she was having trouble setting up direct push on her Exchange 2003 Server.

Could you point me in the direction of some instructions on how to set up exchange 2003, ISA 2004 and mobile 5.0 to enable direct push email?  I can’t seem to get through the ISA onto our network to sync the email.  We are using qtecs and k-jams over the Vodafone GPRS or 3G network.

I seem to get a lot of these type of questions so thought it was worth a blog entry. 

  1. Install Exchange 2003 SP2.  Read all about the new mobility features in SP2 here
  2. Follow the step by step guide to configuring ISA and connecting mobile devices – or just read step 6 if you’re short of time.
  3. That’s it.  Read your mail. On your phone…

Mind you – although I wonder how I ever managed without my smartphone, it does take over my life.  Jason was right about how addictive these things are…  I need to be more disciplined and not sync my mail at weekends.  I’ve tried it though, and spend my whole life looking at the phone wistfully waiting for that mail from someone special to come in, and trying not to force a sync…! 

 

Instant messaging – anywhere

A lot of us are trying to get our heads around Web 2.0 and how it will affect the way we work on the web.  People are driving the web – not the other way around.  Think about commenting on blogs, subscribing to something on a Wiki – this is changing how the web works.  Mike goes on about Web 2.0 a lot, and delivering software as a service wherever you happen to be.  We’ve done some work towards this – especially in the Instant Messaging area with Public Internet connectivity (allowing your Office communicator client to talk to Yahoo, MSN or AOL).

Well I’ve found something that takes the idea of Instant communication that little bit further.  it’s called Meebo and it delivers your IM to you wherever you want to be, on whatever device.  It’s run by some talented people over in Palo Alto and allows your presence information to be embedded on a web page.  And that opens up the social software bit of Web 2.0 to anyone.  We have a web client too – both for Messenger, and Office Communicator, but we don’t have the bit of code that allows you to embed the client in your web page or wherever you want to put it.  And that’s what’s so cool.  And that’s what is going to be so powerful in Web 2.0 speak

I think I need to have a play with this …

Setting up direct push for Windows mobile 5.0

Emily contacted me as she was having trouble setting up direct push on her Exchange 2003 Server.

Could you point me in the direction of some instructions on how to set up exchange 2003, ISA 2004 and mobile 5.0 to enable direct push email?  I can’t seem to get through the ISA onto our network to sync the email.  We are using qtecs and k-jams over the Vodafone GPRS or 3G network.

I seem to get a lot of these type of questions so thought it was worth a blog entry. 

  1. Install Exchange 2003 SP2.  Read all about the new mobility features in SP2 here
  2. Follow the step by step guide to configuring ISA and connecting mobile devices – or just read step 6 if you’re short of time.
  3. That’s it.  Read your mail. On your phone…

Mind you – although I wonder how I ever managed without my smartphone, it does take over my life.  Jason was right about how addictive these things are…  I need to be more disciplined and not sync my mail at weekends.  I’ve tried it though, and spend my whole life looking at the phone wistfully waiting for that mail from someone special to come in, and trying not to force a sync…!