The death of the iPod?

Not yet…but certainly something to think about…

I was scanning through the news links this morning and noticed this article saying that within 5 years, then most of us would not be carrying portable MP3 players around at all, but instead would be listening to music on our cellphones.  Until I got my new device, I’d not really considered this as a possibility, but now with the option of a 1GB storage card in the phone, not only can I listen to music, I can also watch DVD’s and things like that.  Listening to music on your phone is fairly common now. Melvilles wife is a teacher at a school where cellphones are banned in class.  She often catches kids in the classroom listening to music on their phones instead of  focusing on the lesson.  It’s really easy to jam the phone signals with a neat little device that could make your train journeys blissfully silent (not that I’d “recommend” that at all of course…Hee hee!).  Now it would be great to jam that annoying tinny music sound that rattles out of MP3’s at top volume into peoples ears… Now there’s a thought..

But the thing that I noticed about the Techweb story was not the content, but the DHTML in the top right hand corner of the page.  My IE7 beta 2 pop up blocker completrely ignored it as it’s technically not a pop up.  It certainly brings a new aspect to ads, op-ups and pop unders doesn’t it?…