Exmerge v Recover Mailbox Data

My blog yesterday talked about the dangers of writing an email after you’ve been drinking.  Well Nino has highlighted all the things I got wrong in my blog entry which proves that it’s also not a good idea to blog late in the evening after 3 glasses of wine… Oops.  Here’s what he said…

Exmerge used to be on the CD in E2000… but with Exchange 2003, it is NOT on the CD anymore but you have to get it off the Exchange 2003 Tools site:
The Recover Mailbox Data does not actually resolve the scenario you mentioned (email removal based on the subject) – Exmerge does. Recover Mailbox Data replaced Exmerge after you restore to a Recovery Storage Group but not when you need to yank the message out of the store. For yanking the message out of the store – you still need Exmerge and you have to use the option to “Archive messages to a target store” – and the document that comes with Exmerge explains how to do so…
 

Oh heck – I’ll stick to celebrating the festive season and stop blogging when I’m tipsy.  Happy holidays, and thanks Nino for putting me right.  I now owe you even more beer!