Move your Autocomplete entries to another machine

Koen had a bit of a challenge moving his autocomplete entries

“After searching on the Microsoft site, I found an aricle in your blog about the autocompletion of email addresses.
Personally I really love to use it. However, I’m encountering a problem with it now, I’ll need to change from profile soon at work, witch the change of this profile all my stored email addresses will be lost (I tried it already and it’s really true).
Do you know if there’s any possibility to store these email addresses?
I think this can be useful as backup as well.”

Well I looked around for ages till I found the answer to this question.  I do know that it’s really easy to save your autocomplete entries, I’d seen a blog entry or too on how to do it.  I’ve been meaning to do this for some time and install the latest beta build of Vista on my production machines main partition, and not just in a different partition to swap into when I had a bit of time to experiment.

So I’ve finally found the KB article documenting how to find the file.  It’s at   “drive:\Documents and Settings\user name\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook.nk2” So all you need to do is copy it somewhere safe..

Mine is well below 1Mb in size, but I regularly remove entries I no longer use any more to keep the file size small.  So the file is now saved somewhere else as a backup (Good idea Koen!)