Password protecting PST’s

Gosh!  My post last week about PST files started some discussion… They seem to be such an emotive subject don’t they?  Apart from the comments on my blog entry (which are always really good to see, as they prompt discussions from people with much better ideas than I have), I’ve had several mails from people who weren’t comfortable with leaving a comment (and some flames too..) about why the heck do I recommend PST’s in the first place, corporate policy and procedures and all…)

Well here’s something that’ll inflame you further…

One of the emails I received talked about password protecting .PST files.  Now don’t shout at me, he wanted to put something in place at his company for a minimal level of protection for his pst’s.  so here’s some info from the Office team on why you would or wouldn’t do this.  Don’t forget that securing data in PST’s should be done by Encrypting the File system where the PST is stored.  The encryption setting in the Outlook dialog box isn’t very strong and is designed to prevent casual snooping – not a determined attack…

So be aware of the issues about PST’s and – I’m not advocating their use – just telling you to take care if you do use PST’s  – as I do…🙂