SMS Primary and Secondary sites

So what’s the maximum number of secondary sites that can attach to an SMS 2003 primary site?  <customer question>

Well, I’ve searched all over for the definitive answer to this one – and I can’t find anything! I’ve discovered that SMS can’t deal with more than 500 Distribution points at all, and that 500 secondaries are not recommended.  The SMS Capacity planner gives a lot of assistance in planning your site, and gets you round some of the questions – but you need to be aware of the reporting times that having such a lot of secondary sites gives you..

I’ve scoured the Deployment scenarios document but can find nothing definitive.  So if you see something that I’ve missed, please let me know so I can go back to my customer (rather a large scale deployment and they want to use the least number of servers possible)