Mulberry Jam

I had an email overnight from Bob which was so different from the normal questions and comments I usually get about Exchange, SMS and MOM that I thought I’d answer it on my blog… Here’s his mail:

Hi Eileen,

I followed a few links through your blog and discovered your interest in making Jam.  I live in Australia and last year the birds had a great feed from my Mulberry tree growing in the back yard.  I have been half-heartedly searching for a recipe for Mulberry Jam as a way to use up all the berries I am expecting from this year’s crop.

Do you have a good recipe for making Jam from Mulberries (or black berries or raspberries or similar) that you could share?

Happy Jamming, Bob

Well, it’s quite a challenge to find out that I make Jam, just from reading this blog so I was impressed by Bob’s persistance in discovering this, and I thought it was worth answering with a slightly “off topic” blog entry! (By the way, for other similarly persistant souls, what else do I do that is a little bit different?)

So here is the recipe for Mulberry and Apple jam from my grandmothers cookbook:

Mulberry and Apple Jam -Makes about 2.3kg (5lb)

1.4kg (3lb) mulberries

450g (1lb) apples (prepared weight)

600ml (1pt) water

1.6kg (3.5 lb sugar)

Wash the mulberries and simmer them in half the measured water until they are soft. Peel, core and slice the apples, weigh them and simmer gently in the remaining water until they are really soft and pulped. Combine the mulberries and the apples and add the sugar. Stir until this is dissolved and then boil the jam until setting point is reached. Pot and cover in the usual way.

The key is to add the apples to mulberries to give the pectin content needed to make the jam set. The alternative is to use lemon juice, or pectin liquid. Blackberry jam also needs lemon juice to set properly, as does Strawberry. Raspberries are fine without the additional pectin, but will give a softer jam.

What a shame that Bob lives in Australia as I’d have looked forward to sampling the finished produce!  But thanks to him, I have an unusual topic to blog about this morning!