Back up your PST’s with Outlook 2003 Addin

Noooo! I hear you yell.  She shouldn’t be telling anyone how easy it is to back up PST’s automatically when we’re trying to implement a centralised e-mail archiving solution and educate the users. 

But I’m as bad, or maybe worse than you.  I use PST’s and I burn them off to CD once a year.  Aaargh! Not a good mechanism to keep hold of my data.  Well it’ll be my fault if I have a hard drive fail one month before my annual backup. So I found this on the web.  It’s been around for a while, but my sloppy back up procedures meant that I’ve never bothered looking before today. yes – you’ve guessed it.  I’ve lost something fairly important and I’ve got a sneaking suspicion that I’ve deleted something from my new PST and – I don’t have a backup of it.  Grrrr…… 

My only bit of email discipline is that once a year I completely empty my mailbox, move everything into last years PST file and start over again.  I also delete all of my rules, and all of my folder structure in my mailbox.  So for a few weeks at the start of the year I have a lovely clean mailbox and I can create all of my folders and organise my rules again.  Deleting my rules also puts all of the mails that used to be moved by rules back into my inbox, which reminds me to either create a new rule into the new folder, or remove myself from the mailing list.  It allows me to prune all of the mails that I really don’t need to track any more and makes my email less busy.

At least it makes me think that I’m organised – once a year!…..