Since Facebook changed its User Interface to compete more effectively with Google+ there has been lots of reports concerning the interface. 86% seem to dislike the new interface according to Sodahead with women and teenagers being especially resistant to the Facebook changes.
The real time Ticker has been introduced onto the right hand side of your activity stream. This means that every post you make on a page will show up on all of your friends real time activity stream. Friends who weren’t aware that you’d liked a page can now see your interactions with the page.
The new timeline has brought significant changes in the way you can see information. When you apply the Timeline mode, your profile gets a new look.
In Timeline view, all of your friends can see all of your posts and can move the slider on the right to see what interactions you’ve had right back to the date you joined Facebook. The timeline also makes it possible to find out the exact time date you became friends with someone on Facebook. Perhaps this is information you might not want to share.
Friends can see all of your timeline information – even before you became their Facebook Friend.
Frictionless sharing now means that anything that you read online could potentially be shared with everyone in your time line – whether or not you explicitly share the content. Imagine everything you read online going onto your Facebook page – and everything that others read online filtering down onto your Facebook page. How on earth are you going to find what’s relevant amongst all of that noise? Open Graph applications such as Spotify will automatically share what you’re listening to. This “Ambient Intimacy” might suit some of us – but it doesn’t sit too well with those of us who feel the need to carefully manage our privacy. Even Facebook cookies might cause further alarm as they track users’ activities even after they have logged out of Facebook.
But is this type of behaviour pushing the boundaries of online Privacy? Once you’ve authorised that application, the “set it and forget it” way are you going to go back and revisit the settings to check what’s being broadcast on your timeline? Are you going to delete back posts and remove applications that you no longer use of do you trust that Facebook will do it for you?
Or do you prefer to keep some things to yourself and your close friends? If that’s the case, be very careful about what you post or have already posted onto Facebook…
Eileen is a social business strategist and author of Working The Crowd: Social Media Marketing for Business. Contact her to find out how she can help your business extend its reach.